‘Hiking with Haikus’ by Barbara Leonhard and Nolcha Fox

The trail is dusty.

My words are parched.

Rain comes tomorrow.

It drenches the wildflowers.

I seek shelter in a cave.

Meadowlarks sing.

Birdsong lifts my

eyes to sky,

gives my laughter wings.

I fly with joy

above the clouds 

until I can fly no more 

My feet touch down

on dusty trail.

Time to go back home.

Barbara Leonhard, an internationally-known prize-winning poet and Pushcart nominee, is also the Editor for MasticadoresUSA. Her debut poetry collection, Three-Penny Memories: A Poetic Memoir is a best seller on Amazon.

Nolcha Fox, a Nominee for 2023 Best of The Net, 2024 Best of The Net Anthology and Pushcart Prize 2023, is Visual editor for Chewers & Masticadores. Her poetry books are available on Amazon and Dancing Girl Press.

Image courtesy: A photo by Zach Reiner from Unsplash

4 respuestas a “‘Hiking with Haikus’ by Barbara Leonhard and Nolcha Fox”

Deja un comentario

Diseña un sitio como este con WordPress.com
Comenzar